Blog Tour: The Wrong Move by Jennifer Savin


Released: 23rd April 2020

Publisher: Ebury (Penguin)

Genre: Domestic / psychological thriller

Blurb:

You thought it was the perfect flat ...

When Jessie moves into a flat share at Maver Place, she’s finally found a decent place to live.

And when she’s befriended by fellow tenants Lauren and Sofie, she’s got great flatmates to share it with.

You think she’s safe. You think she can trust these people.

You’re wrong.

When you flat share, how well do you really know the people that you're living with?

A dark, twisty domestic thriller about the perfect flat share gone wrong for fans of Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door and Louise Candlish's Our House.

My Thoughts:

This novel is creepy, tense and compelling – just what you want from the genre.

I’m always drawn to a domestic thriller, and especially with everything going on in the world at the moment (though I’ll admit I’m not reading darker thrillers as much) I find that these kind of books are the perfect escapism to get lost in.

I liked Jessie from the first chapter and I empathised with her frustration of finding somewhere to live. Obviously, I knew that something was soon to go wrong, but I couldn’t pinpoint what that was and felt my fingers and my imagination moving quickly through the pages. I had expected to read about alienating flatmates – in thrillers about flat shares that I’ve read before, that seemed the norm – but I found myself actually warming to these, and that intrigued me all the more.

The author threw in quite a few twists and turns, as you’d hope, and they kept the pace moving throughout the whole story for me. The final twist was incredible and left me flicking back through the book to see what clues I’d missed. The narrative was weaved so intricately with all of the characters' relationships and secrets that I was left working things out, impressed with how well the author had crafted her story.

If you enjoy books by Ruth Ware or Shari Lapena then I would recommend this – it’s eerie and exciting, and I'll be waiting to see what the author comes out with next. Thanks to Anne Cater for inviting me to be part of the blog tour and to Ebury for sending me a copy for review.

For more information and buying options, click here for amazon link, or contact your local independent bookseller.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

​FOLLOW ME

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2016 by Gemma Roman. Proudly created with Wix.com

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now