Review: The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle


This book (published by Raven Books) had been on my radar for a while - I heard about it around a year ago and was intrigued, and then I received it as a gift for Christmas as it had sat on my wish list for a while. In the meantime it has won a Costa Award and become one of the most talked about novels of 2018.

I found the premise so unique - The main character waking up in a different body each morning to relive the same day in the hopes of solving a murder. I won't reveal any more in terms of plot as this story is full of twists and, though it took me a while to get into it, when I did I was gripped and it just kept getting darker and more complex.

Knowing that this is a debut novel is even more impressive, given the depth of the characters and how the plot is intricately woven together; there are elements of sci-fi, historical fiction and mystery, and then the plot thickens towards a mind-bending finale that blew me away.

For fans of Cluedo and Black Mirror, this novel will keep you guessing right until the last pages, and won't disappoint. I can't wait to see what Stuart Turton does next.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

​FOLLOW ME

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2016 by Gemma Roman. Proudly created with Wix.com

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now